Wallpaper

09Jul10

Two things have led to this post..ok, well 3 things actually. 1.  My manager and I had a discussion about wallpaper and if it’s fashionable to have in your house. 2. I just so happened to be at my Grandparent’s house prior to her asking me this question and took several pictures of awesome 70’s wallpaper!! 3. This is a dedication to my Grandmother that just passed away on June 26th, may she rest in peace and never lose her sass in the afterlife.

Wallpaper #1

Seemingly tame for kitchen wallpaper and typical 70’s color palette…until you pair it with Wallpaper #2 and then you are zipped back in time to a Brady Bunch episode.

Holy Wallpaper Batman! This covered the majority of the walls in the kitchen, where the stripes were just the accent in the walkthrough…it’s a lot comin’ atcha.

Next we move on to

The wallpaper in the guest bathroom.  My Grandma had a thing for floral patterns and bold colors…she was a bold lady. That reminds me, I should have taken a picture of the bright orange shag carpet in the guest room…yep, you heard me, SHAG…ORANGE..CARPET.

On to the next wallpaper

So this is wallpaper in my Grandma’s Bathroom area where the sinks and vanity were (next wallpaper is what’s in the water closet/tub area if you will).  More tame than the floral but the secret to this one is it’s texture. It’s like a linen fabric on the wall…ok on to my favorite wallpaper.

Now this wallpaper makes a statement! Who needs minty shampoo or body wash to revive the senses in the morning?! Just one step in this room and you’re good as awake after 2 cups of coffee!  All colors from the 70’s represented here, Grandma was meticulous about her decorating…

Now onto Grandpa’s bathroom (yes, they had separate bathrooms…)

Ahh…what to say about this gem of a wallpaper.  Well, it’s sorta manly I guess.  Did it scream successful businessman to you?! Maybe back then but it’s struggling with it’s identity now.  And the most surprising one of all comes from the den/office.

Wait, what’s going on?! There’s no bold color or pattern to speak of!? it’s, dare I say, conservative and normal? Shocking…I think my Grandpa finally cut her off and took away the samples, she had way too much fun decorating this house.

Oh how I will miss this house and all it’s 70’s charm and quirks. I don’t think my mom will miss the kitchen wallpaper though. 😉

One Response to “Wallpaper”

  1. 1 cat

    Oh my dear you had us laughing on the floor. Both of us were crying . Way too funny. I so relate to this. Scary,,,, Love you


Leave a Reply

